Another pinterest find! And a successful project, too. I’ve done this twice. Here is the first one.

The original post can be found here: Silhouette Canvas

******

These are the steps for this art project:

1. Cut photos from magazines. Odd shapes and irregular shapes are perfect. I picked food pictures, since my plan was to create this piece of art for my kitchen or dining room.

2. Using Mod Podge, glue the cut out pictures this way and that, overlapping each one a bit, onto a canvas. Allow to dry (for me, this took a month because I put if off and forgot about it, but a day or so would work fine).

step 1

3. Using cardboard or poster board or heavy paper, cut out any design. Because this one was food related, and I love to cook, and I have a fondness for whisks, I picked a whisk. Now, here’s where I have to give myself a pat on the back. I drew the whisk free hand … and it came out awesome!

4. Place the cut out on the canvas. I picked a corner-ish position, as did the example I found online, but you can put it anywhere on the canvas. I’m not a “smack dab in the center” type girl, but if that’s your thing, go for it.

step 2

5. Open a can of leftover paint that you have (or use craft paint). On our main level we have a dark gray and on the upper level a coordinating light gray, so I picked the light gray for this canvas, since it will be on a wall with the dark gray paint.

6. Using a sponge applicator (ten cents at the craft store), paint the canvas, being VERY CAREFUL not to move the cut out design. The whole painting process took me about ten minutes.

step 3

7. Wait a couple minutes, then carefully remove the cut out design.

???????????????????????????????

8. Admire your work.

9. When fully dry, hang on the wall and enjoy your creativity!

final

