Last December I wanted to make a star for the top of our Christmas tree. I had some wire and beads, from previous projects, so I sat down with them all, turned on the TV, and went to it.

The sturdy pieces of wire I had weren’t long enough to make the full star, so I attached them to each other with twists and turns. Then I used thin gold wire to string along some glass and silver beads and attached the gold wire to the silver star. I didn’t have a plan as to how many beads to use or what I wanted the finished star to look like. I just kept going until I was satisfied.

When it was ready, I attached it to the top of the tree (I made sure to have extra wire at the bottom for this purpose). It was okay. I think it needed to be bigger. Or maybe if I had been able to put lights behind it the colors of the beads would have stood out more. This year I’ll make another one, bigger, and with more beads.

Even though it wasn’t perfect for the tree, I love it! It’s been on my mantel since last December. It looks great with my vase and other items I have displayed there.

******

First step: Made a star shape out of bits of silver wire.

Second step: String glass and silver beads onto gold wire and attach that to the star.

Star on the tree last December.

Displayed on the mantel.

