twisterfishcrafts woven art (24)

After making cards by weaving strips of maps, photos, and pages from books, I set out to weave a larger art piece. This summer I was explaining my plans to my sister-in-law and she asked me to make one for her. So I did.

It took me a few months because I was creatively stuck. I knew this piece of art would include a map of the area where she lives, and a page from a thesaurus. But which page? Which word, or words, would go well for her? And what else to weave with it? Maybe a photo, but which one? Weeks went by before I could start. Then months. Then I decided just to get started and see what happens.

As I gathered the map and the thesaurus, inspiration struck. In the drawer I keep the thesaurus I had put all the items I gathered from our summer vacation. There were maps, brochures, paper gift bags from museum gift shops, and lots of other mementos. One museum we went to is very near and dear to my sister-in-law, and I had a brochure and a gift bag from that one. Perfect! And while flipping through the thesaurus, I came upon words associated with family and lineage and knew those were the pages to use.

I cut horizontal strips from the map, the thesaurus, and from the museum shop gift bag. Vertical strips were cut from the cover of the museum’s brochure, which features a famous painting on display at the museum, and a picture of the museum grounds.

I started by arranging the horizontal strips. Unfortunately, after cutting the map the pieces fell on the floor and it took me quite some time to piece them back together. It was important to me that the map was in order in the piece. Good thing I know that area well and am familiar with most of the town names! But, wow, it took a lot of time to set it right before I could start weaving.

I used Washi tape to secure the left side of the strips. As you can see from the pictures, I made the mistake of not lining it up with the lines on my cutting board. Silly mistake. If I had done that, the process at the end to square it up would have been much easier.

Then I started weaving. I was careful to not cover names of towns that were important to my sister in law. Her hometown and the town she currently lives in are in sight, as is the town she works in. And I did the same for certain words from the thesaurus.

Looking at the final piece, it may not be obvious what the vertical strips are, but if she looks closely, and spends some time examining the piece (which I hope she does!), she may notice bits of the reflecting pond from the museum grounds, and the eye of the woman in the painting that was on the cover of the brochure.

After the weaving was complete and squared, I chose a piece of textured card stock to mount it on. Using my sewing machine threaded with white thread, I stitched around the piece to secure it to the card stock.  Then I cut the strips that were too long. The piece was then inserted into a frame I purchased, and boxed up and mailed to my sister-in-law.

Below are the pictures I took as I did this project. It was a lot of fun and turned out exactly as I had hoped it would. Definitely will be making one of these for myself very soon!

twisterfishcrafts woven art (1)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (2)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (3)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (5)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (6)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (10)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (12)

Warning: When you notice a piece of fuzz on your very sharp cutter, do not wipe it off using your thumb.

twisterfishcrafts woven art (14)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (17)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (20)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (22)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (23)

twisterfishcrafts woven art (24)

 

