twisterfishcrafts fabric chain (1)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I made this fabric chain last year. I love it! I plan to shop for more fun Christmas fabrics and add to the chain this year.

My original intent was to have 24 links in the chain, and to use it as an advent calendar, but I like it so much as is, that I decided not to do that. (You can see what kind of advent calendars I did make in this post.)

This project would be easy for teens who know how to use a sewing machine (or who can learn to sew straight lines with a sewing machine).

***

I purchased fabric quarters at a craft store for only $1 each. I think I got ten of them in total, in six different patterns. (This also gave me enough fabric to make pillow covers.)

I cut them into strips about 8.5 inches long and 3 inches wide (this allowed me to use most of the fabric with very little waste).

Next I ironed on a strip of lightweight fusible interfacing (8.5 inches by 1.5 inches) to each one.

After folding the strip lengthwise, I used a zig-zag stitch to sew it on all four sides.

Using a straight stitch, I then sewed the small pieces of velcro, one of each side of the strip.

Linked them together, and it was done.

Easy. Fun. Cute!

